Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 3

Welcome to edition three of  the Third Sunday Blog Carnival!

Once again, there are many powerful posts in this issue, brought to you by 55 incredible contributors: 26 in the Poetry category, 12 in the Fiction category and 17 in the Writing/The Writing Life category. The links below are separated by category and are in no particular order. Most of the participants have described their post and I also share my thoughts on each one.

Follow the links to the authors’ blogs and leave a comment. Let’s support the creative community. Also, let me know what you think of this edition by commenting on this post.

The next Blog Carnival will be on April 15th. If you would like your link to be included, read and follow the guidelines and email your submission by April 10.

Ready, set, go! Have fun at the Carnival!

Aaliyah Hannan presents Untitled – on writing posted at Sultry Soliloquy, saying, “This is an untitled piece on the experience of artistic expression, writing, as a learning process, a baring of the knowledge within which is not yet completely understood, a colourful and natural introspection that births new possessive comprehension…. ” A  beautiful description of the creative process.

Elizabeth Kate Switaj presents Prezi Poem 4 posted at Elizabeth Kate Switaj, saying, “This post in the fourth of a series in which I explore the possibilities for using Prezi as a medium for experimental poetry.” The special effects using Prezi are exciting. I’m loving the possibilities for experimental poetry.

Mark Fewtrell presents Elegy and mother posted at Wackjob’s Ethology and Ethnology. When I asked Mark if this was fiction or prose poetry, he said, “Perhaps prose poetry but more an elegiac rant. You decide. I would be interested. For me the meaning floats on the river. Form is what ends up happening.” Poetry in the paragraph form always throws me off but this this is indeed a poem. Am I right? In any event, this is a gorgeous piece.

Pamela A. Rossow presents Evolution posted at Pammaner’s Blog, saying, “This link is uses evolution and science to reveal an abandoned relationship.” Astronomy is rather a sexy science–at least it is now!

Laura Moe presents “Metaphors Can Reduce the Distance.” A line from Kafka On The Shore. posted at Laura Moe’s Writing Blog, saying, “I write this blog to share insights on writing and exercises I devise or glean from other sources. Occasionally I discuss information from writing workshops or writing books I read. This posting includes a poem derived from an exercise by Ted Kooser.” This is an interesting writing exercise, and a wonderful poem resulting from it.

Maria Grujicic presents By Bike To Australia And Back! posted at Music for Communication, saying, “I used to teach in a bilingual Spanish-English school in Albacete, Spain The children saw me arrive on my bike every day to school and back ‘home’. They interpreted my ‘being from Australia’ that I ‘lived in Australia’! Astrella means stars in Spanish and I thought about the title because of the story about the children and because of how they pronounced Australia ASTRELLA. ” Delightful poem with a sweet backstory.

Marissa Mireles presents Vagina posted at Kalikaleidoscope. Among other things, I love the body/mind connection suggested here.

Linda Neas presents Poems for Father’s Day posted at Words from the Heart, saying, “I wrote this post and the poems as Father’s Day gifts to my Dad (deceased) and my brother and my sons-in-law.  Often, poetry is thought of as a gift for women but not for men.  I like to think the men in my life love the turn of a phrase as much as I.” Very touching tributes. I agree that we can celebrate these sentiments any time of the year.

Eighty Six presents “Cathartes Aura on the Road from Nowhere” Sneak Peek: Chapter Ten posted at 86 the Poet. Part of a novel told in verse. Wonderful storytelling, great imagery.

Dre Mancuso presents Spasms I posted at Joy. Garbage from the spam folder is put to good use here. Well done.

Millie Shenton presents Wishes & Dreams posted at This Is Me in the Raw …, saying, “This was a reminder to myself that I can wish and dream forever, but I have the power to make them come true.” Great message. I love how the words fall across the page.

Medusa Moon presents Butterflies and Moonbeams posted at medusamoon, saying, “This poem is about awakening from a life-time of despair, alongside the waiting and hopefully anticipation, that after such a long time in the dark a person shall be greeted by beauty and wonder. Yet sometimes, through no fault of our own, life is doomed before we have a chance to truly shine! ” Lovely and delicate.

Mariska Taylor-Darko presents Inner Self posted at African Woman’s Poetry, saying, “Inner Self was written during my period or mourning after the loss of my husband.  I was searching  and trying to find the meaning of being me.  In times like these, when you are left alone you feel that all is wrong with you and nothing is worthwhile and working properly in your life.” Stirring poem, spiritual, and powerful. “Is She in me –?”

Shriram presents The world is her home posted at Pebble of Thought, saying, ” It is about millionaires with zero money.” A lot said in a few words. Nicely done.

Harsh Singhal presents Heart’s applause…  posted at Visualize. Create. Enjoy., saying,

“This,for a friend I wrote,
While sipping on a bottle of Coke (coca cola :))
Like in rain, when frogs do croak,

The fire of emotions I gently stoke…”

A charming poem.

Linda Kruschke presents Glimpsing Light in the Darkness – A Pantoum posted at Linda Kruschke’s Blog, saying, “I wrote this poem about my own struggles with depression. There was a time in my life that depression almost consumed me. But now, with the Light of Jesus in my life I find that when the darkness threatens to return I am able to hold onto Him and by seeing His Light I can find my way out of the darkness of depression again.” This poetic form suits the soaring message of hope.

Katherine Felix presents The Goddess of Lost Potential posted at Creative and Conscious, saying, “This piece is one that deals with the effects of the past, on our paths in life.  It is something that I pulled out of another piece, where it really didn’t belong, but kept interrupting me, as if to say… this has to be said first.” I love that this poem hits hard from the first lines and doesn’t let up. Powerful.

Seán Hewitt presents Jack-O’-Lantern posted at Sounding Out, saying, “‘This is a poem by Seán Hewitt, a student at Girton College, Cambridge, whose poetry has been published in various publications and recieved the Rima Alamuddin Prize in 2011. He is currently the editor of The Tower Magazine.” Beautiful, fanciful imagery.

Samara Marie presents Dedicated to the Love of my Life posted at Pressing Play, saying, “My poem expresses the longing for a lost love that I have, whose name is Harlem, New York. This is the first of two poems that I have about  Harlem.” Great tribute to a part of town steeped with history. (It’s been a while since I heard this one from Bobby Humphrey; nice!)

David Selzer presents Ezra Pound in Venice posted at David Selzer. I have to admit that I wasn’t aware of this negative aspect of Pound’s legacy until now but the details of characterization in this poem are striking and compelling.

Brenda Moguez presents Working Writer posted at Brenda Moguez, saying, “This is a poem on being a writer.” The paradox of the agonizing work and the joy of writing is nicely shown here.

Siva presents [Poem] Across the stairway… posted at This That and Sundries…, saying, “A poem about love at first sight for that girl across the stairway.” Sweet.

Lexanne Leonard presents A Memory of France, 1982 posted at To create…, saying, “The post I am submitting is a recent poem inspired by two other works – a film and a poem.  It is titled “A Memory of France, 1982″ and was written 2/7/12. I find I enjoy writing with prompts and those were my prompts for the piece.” Clear images yet intriguing story. A wonderful poem, prompts or no.

Portia Burton presents A Neverending Story posted at Portia’s World, saying, “This poem is a tribute to my mother who is bravely fighting with breast cancer.” This is nothing short of stunning. So beautiful.

Autumn Eliza presents A Walk in the Woods posted at Autumn Glory, saying, “This is a poem about my experience of being with the ‘Creator’ when once wandering in dense woods of our ‘Lake District'(North-East England).” Lovely imagery, delightful detail.

A.D. Joyce presents 30 Days, 30 Poems: NaPoWriMo #2 posted at Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World. This poem, titled “chromatic,” was written based on a prompt to incorporate the titles of three books you have in your house. I made a point of choosing books written by women.”

Dawn Napier presents Black Butterflies posted at  Mom’s Secret Horrors, saying, “This story was written as a reaction to two terrible things happening within a week of each other:  a friend’s pregnancy loss and the Japanese tsunami.  A child with psychic powers might foresee terrible things happening but would not have the capacity to understand what she was seeing.” Simply an awesome and haunting story.

Michael J. Hebel presents Rue the Woe posted at A Minute with Michael, saying, “This short story was a hit with some of my readers who begged me to tell the whole story and not just a snapshot of it. So this is part one of a three-part short story.  This story took on a life of its own and it was the first time I learned that my regular readers actually cared about these fictional people and places.” That was a really great beginning. I’m certainly interested to know what happens next …

Adam Eisenstat presents One Day Near Calvary Cemetery posted at Big Sky Brooklyn, saying, “I wrote this story to complement some pictures I took during a “DrunkWalk” in Queens. The sequence of shots suggested a strong narrative while the environment pictured—and my memory of it—supplied the tone . . . You might say I’m a ‘cemetery buff.’ I’m especially fond of the areas surrounding cemeteries. I find them, in NYC at least, to be a real treat for the eyes and a stimulant to the imagination.” Innovative storytelling.

Jennifer Froelich presents Rescuing Grace posted at Wake of Echoes, saying “”Rescuing Grace’ is the story of Corey, a Search and Rescue volunteer looking for a lost little girl.  As he and his team search Oak Creek Canyon, Arizona, Corey’s thoughts are with his autistic daughter at home, whom he is also desperate to ‘rescue.'” Touching story of a father’s love.

Sandra K Woodiwiss presents I’m in Love posted at Lydia Ink, saying, “I love writing flash fiction.” This story has an enigmatic ending.

Lorinda J. Taylor presents The Termite Queen: Volume One: The Speaking of the Dead posted at Ruminations of a Remembrancer, saying, “This is chapter 7 of my science fiction novel. In the 30th century, an off-world scientific expedition brings back a specimen of a giant termite, which subsequently dies after exhibiting signs of intelligence.  Its brainwaves have been recorded and in this chapter the linguistic anthropologist Kaitrin Oliva tries to decipher the dying termite’s final words.  In the meantime, the team – Kaitrin, the entomologist Griffen Gwidian and two extraterrestrial colleagues – a bird and a lemuriform – plan a new expedition to the termite’s homeworld.” Wow, what a terrifically imaginative and detailed world. I love the musical notes as a form of punctuation.

Lou Barba presents Get With the Program, Mr. Sandman posted at The Short Story Kitchen, saying, “This post is the most recent episode in the short story “The Man From Where??”  and continues our story about Sandy, the hitchhiker who came to The Village on the Edge of the Sea, ZeeZee, the friendly innkeeper, and some of our other favorite characters.” A few plots to sink your teeth into, plus a cute bonus story.

Paul Mount presents Dogwood (Reponse to 10/31 prompt) posted at Paul-in-Training, saying, “I’ve been blogging since pretty much the time blogging was invented. I do a weekly writing prompt with a group of friends, and so my blog post is a short story I wrote in response to one of those (it was a series of three random images from Flickr that we had to connect into a story).” Those must have been some hellified images to inspire this piece of fiction. Affecting story well told.

Chicki Brown presents Sample Sunday posted at Sister Scribbler. Great sample from a larger work of fiction.

KGWaite presents The Contours of a Man’s Heart posted at Writing in the Margins, Bursting at the Seams, saying, “The above piece is a continuation of my work in progress.” An extraordinary write about small town secrets.

Lisa Vooght presents Dying Words-Flash Fiction posted at Flash Fiction, saying, “While I often tackle dark or emotionally charged subject matter, “Dying Words” is a light piece about a linguist in search of the last known speaker of a native language.” Definitely worth the effort of translation! 🙂

Rosie Stewart presents In a rut. posted at Dear Rosie, Love Rosie, saying, “This post is about my struggle to find something to write about as I fear I’m not very interesting.” My advice? Keep writing and connecting with other writers. Anybody else have words of wisdom?

Lauren Camp presents Prompt 22: Write a Single Line posted at Which Silk Shirt, saying “A very simple prompt to keep you writing, no matter what.” This is a great prompt, great advice.

Tina Boscha presents Sausage as euphemism, social media, and my 100th sale posted at Tina Boscha, saying, “This one is a tongue-in-cheek post about the power of social media.” Great story, also a personal account of the writer as marketer.

Oscar Windsor-Smith presents Don’t Deride Wise Words posted at Is that the time? Lord…, saying, “This is a contemplative piece about the significance of reading ‘wise words.” This is a beautiful post about how deeply a writer’s influences can run. I think many a writer will be able to relate to this.

Marilyn Hammick presents A week of reading & writing posted at Glowworm Creative, saying, “A glimpse of the elements within my ‘poetry’ week … the work a new poem brings, the need to seek the wisdom of others, and the influences -sometimes in planned reading but as often as not these arrive as gifts to shape my thoughts.” Nice post on the creative process and not always knowing where the inspiration will come from.

Catrina Barton presents Opening hooks posted at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts, saying, “This article on opening hooks, goes through the basics, explaining what a hook is and why it’s so important, and then goes a step further using a couple examples from my own WIPs.” Good examples, good advice.

Kristiana Gregory presents traditional vs. self-publishing: my experience posted at kristiana gregory: notes from the sunroom, a writer’s journey. This is quite informative from someone who has been on both sides of the publishing process.

Wendy Ann Greenhalgh presents What do you want? posted at Story Scavenger, saying, “Some fun creative writing exercises to get you thinking about character motivations.” This truly does look like a fun project. Already having a familiar storyline probably makes it easier to focus in on the task at hand.

Jeni Decker presents Pulp Fiction: Meet The Hack posted at Closet Space Musings, saying, “It is an interview by an author (me) of an author (Greg Crites). It has humor, as well as insight as to his experience with successfully self-publishing over 20 novels.” A lively, entertaining interview. Good stuff.

Kayfey/Angry Goblin/Inprettyprint presents A class that changes…  posted at In Pretty Print – A Writing & Artist Life…Ongoing. Thank goodness for those teachers in our lives who we’ll never forget and who may never know the profound impact that had on us. This post shows us another great example of that type of teacher.

Angel McDowell.. presents The Other One posted at 142 Books, saying, “This is an example of how I use free verse to help me outline my ideas.  In this case a mystery called ‘The Other One.'” It’s interesting to see how one genre can inspire another. Great post.

Lori Ferguson presents Kids love rhymes…and so do I posted at Bookpx, saying, “I and my partner, Ann-Rhea Fitch, and I children’s ebooks on nature subjects.I write the text and Ann-Rhea illustrates them with her stunning photographs, which are taken on location all over the world.” This post discusses the appeal of rhyme and the use of it in their books.

Rolando Garcia presents How Much Artistic Capital do You Have? posted at Rolando’s Website, saying, “Are you a writer? Have you asked yourself how much artistic capital do you have?” This is a profound post, and I have often wondered whether I will eventually use up my creativity, and also whether that fate is eventual for every artist.

Megan Held presents Inspiring posted at Mysterious Writings, saying, “This post came about when I had a previous teacher express how she wished I could go talk to her class about my writing. This post describes my feelings as a person and writer about being considered inspirational.” This post brings up an interesting point of discussion: Which aspect of writing satisfies each writer the most?

Andrea Coates presents { ~~ { GirlKore Manifesto } ~~ } posted at ! < Andrea Coates’ Writing JUNK > !. saying, “GirlKore Manifesto lays out a New Movement in the Arts: Work created by Young Ladies that xpresses the Subjective Xperiences of Young Ladies.” An interesting take on young women “literary versus commercial” writers.

Sarah Baker presents Guest Post: Anthony McCarten on Getting it Right posted at what sarah reads, saying, ” I host authors on my reviews blog from time to time and always on the subject of writing or the publishing process.  Anthony McCarten’s book Brilliance took an extraordinary journey through life as a play-script, being ‘workshopped’ and testing his faith in the possibility of the great novel.” Fascinating post. Imagine having a novel come to life on the stage …

Donna Miscolta presents When Your Family Thinks They’re in Your Fiction posted at Donna Miscolta, saying, “It’s about how members of my family incorrectly assume that they are characters in my stories.” Excellent post that comes as close as possible to truly explaining how characters and personas are related to the writer. I saw myself in that one. 🙂

*********************************

De fumée et des miroirs des miroirs et de fumée
therefore the end of the carnival

Thank you for reading! It is much appreciated.

© Third Sunday Blog Carnival, 2012.

17 thoughts on “Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 3

  1. Pingback: Prezi Poem 4 | Elizabeth Kate Switaj

  2. I really enjoy this post on 3rd Sunday and hope to contribute soon. I use the Writing/The Writing Life to narrow down the overwhelming amount of information that is out there about writing. I really need to get back to writing. And, of course I never have time to read, so I enjoy the Fiction section as well.

  3. Pingback: BETWEEN THE MONKEY AND THE SNAKE « David Selzer | Poetry, Screen Plays, Stage Plays & Fiction

  4. Pingback: EZRA POUND IN VENICE « David Selzer | Poetry, Screen Plays, Stage Plays & Fiction

  5. Wow – quite a list that! I will treat this like a book of short stories and go read a chapter every day from one of the blogs : ) Bookmarking it now – Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Bookpx is sharing #kidlit with Third Sunday Blog Carnival! | Teaching Kids about nature one rhyme at a time

  7. Pingback: Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 2 « Third Sunday Blog Carnival

  8. Pingback: Opening Hooks « kittyb78

  9. Pingback: 30 Days, 30 Poems: NaPoWriMo #2 « Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World

  10. Pingback: I’m a ThirdSunday BC contributor! | The "Angry Goblin"

Leave a Reply

