Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 7

Welcome to the July edition of the Third Sunday Blog Carnival and if I do say so myself, this issue ROCKS! It’s brought to you by 23 bloggers: 7 in the Poetry category, 8 in the Fiction category. and 8 in the Writing/The Writing Life category. Below, many of the participants have described their posts; I also share my thoughts on each one.

Help spread the word: If you know of someone who would enjoy the blog carnival either as a reader or a contributor, please pass along this post. Also, support the creative community by leaving a comment at  the various authors’ blogs. Other ways to help are to Google+ posts, share to Facebook, tweet, Stumble, and otherwise drop links around the internet. As always, if you have any comments or suggestions about this blog carnival, leave a comment here or email me.

The next Blog Carnival will be on August 19. If you would like your link to be included, read and follow the guidelines and email your submission by August 10.

With no further ado, on to the Carnival! Enjoy!

Kushal Poddar presents The Remaining Of The Seasons posted at Life Ordinaire, saying, “This poem is about the sadness that accompanies the happiness of summer, the feeling of missing the thing yet to be conceived.” Striking, unique imagery.

D. Smith Kaich Jones presents hidden things posted at emma tree, saying, “My mother died unexpectedly last year and for a bit I thought I would never write again.  I was not mentally or emotionally prepared for her death.  But I did write and I watched my writing change.  This poem was written near the beginning of that change.  I’d found my mother’s diaries after her death, diaries I didn’t know she kept, diaries of the small things, of her small days.  They made me laugh and cry – I am indeed my mother’s daughter; I, too, write about the small things, but unlike her, I send most of my words out into the world.  Some I keep.  This poem is about grief and the need to keep writing.” Beautiful, delicate detail; really lovely.

TS Hawkins presents The Color of Sex posted at TSPoetics, saying, “This poem explores the sensuality and temperatures of the every day we take for granted.” Sinuous wordplay and I learned two new words!

RAD presents Living Inside Illusions posted at RAD is RADically Primetime!, saying, “A dream it shall remain, until the masses refuse to blame.” Flowing and etheral. Here’s to making the dream a reality.

Shriram S. presents Revealed posted at Pebble of Thought. Clever and fun.

David Selzer presents Carlton Centre, Johannesburg–April 2009  posted at David Selzer. Quite remarkably, past and present  are invoked in a few short lines.

Maria Grujicic presents Wide Open Eyes posted at Poems That Dance, saying, “I was so happy to have found a video clip to go with my poem, and hope to experiment with music, film and dance to go with my poems in the future. I’m excited about that.” Wow, wow, wow. This is quite exciting, very innovative use of the media. Wonderful poem and reading; fierce video.

Susan Russo Anderson presents Naming the Goat posted at Susan Russo Anderson, saying, “This is a short story about surviving chaos.” A wonderful story, vividly realized.

Uvi Poznansky presents A Sentence, Unfinished posted at Uvi Poznansky. Deeply affecting, with layers of meaning. I’m on the verge of calling it poetry.

Alex Clermont presents Soft–A Short Story About Abuse and Women posted at The (Official) Website of Alex. This is a powerful story well told. I like the wrinkle in time (micro flashback/fast forward) device used here.

Sandra Tyler presents Once-Upon-a-Tale-Tuesday: I am a Tree posted at A Writer Weaves a Tale. This is a beautiful story about the need to remain relevant even as we age.

Alina Cathasach presents Devil’s Rain posted at Alina Cathasach saying, “Amadeus is faced with acknowledging and accepting our visions of right and wrong, as an individual rarely matches what is, or should be, right and wrong for the masses.” Interesting. Lots of dramatic and heavily philosophical dialogue.

Dawn Napier presents Dark Road posted at Mom’s Secret Horrors, saying, “I wrote this story as a way to explore my feelings about death.  Writers usually portray death as the ultimate horror, but I don’t think it always has to be that way.” So well done, as we and the main character gradually come to a realization.

Lisa Vooght presents What Follows the Plow–Flash Fiction posted at Flash Fiction, saying, “Inspiration comes from many sources. Our local heatwave and drought conditions brought back memories of reading Steinbeck’s The Grapes Of Wrath and other works about life during the ‘Dirty Thirties’ in what became known as the Dust Bowl. My flash fiction piece takes a brief look at a day in the life of a 13-year-old girl on what became known as ‘Black Sunday.'” Another wow moment for me, this is a brilliant first-person narrative that I felt I was living rather than reading.

Amos van der Merwe presents Secrets posted at rolbos, saying, “This is a bilingual blog (mostly English) about the life and times of a small town in the Kalahari. The theme (utterly un-South African) is goodness, fairness and kindness.” A wonderful story of man versus nature and compassion for life.

Laxmi Hariharan presents Dare to be an Indie Author? posted at Young Adult, saying, “I am a writer, technophile and dare I say, a futurist, with a penchant for chai and growing eye-catching flowers. Wanderlust drove me out of my home country India to travel across Asia, and I lived in Singapore and Hong Kong before coming home to London. I am inspired by Indian mythology; I draw from the stories my grandmother narrated to me as a child. It is in acknowledging my roots that I found my voice. When not writing, I love walking in the woods with my soulmate and indulging my inner geek.” This post gives great advice about whether the road to self publishing is for you and includes a checklist.

Christopher Lord presents Turning Over New Leaves posted at Dickens Junction, saying, “A first-time novelist makes his way toward publication of the opening novel in his mystery series.” It’s always interesting to read about the various roads toward publication, especially if it has a happy ending.

Justin Cohen presents How a Story Could Save Your Life posted at Justin Cohen, saying, “Great stories are mesmerizing; they engage and entertain like nothing else and it appears if you’re a young virgin facing a psychopathic king, they may just save your life.” Smart use of analogy here that explores a different way to feed the reader’s need for entertainment.

Rolando Garcia presents Should You Write the Book in You? posted at Rolando’s Website. Empowering and affirming for all of us who have something to say and who want to share it.

Catrina Barton presents Have Confidence posted at Kitty’s Inner Thoughts, saying, “One of the main keys to becoming a successful writer, is practice, practice, practice. This post is about the second most important key.” This is apt advice. Nothing ventured, nothing gained …

A. D. Joyce presents Three Rules for Writing posted at Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World. This is my take on the three most important considerations for a writer. After following these rules, the sky’s the limit.

“Kayfey” “Inprettyprint” & “Angry Goblin” presents Kenneth L. Welsh (Feb. 12, 1923 – Feb. 23, 2007) posted at In Pretty Print – A Writing and Artist Life…Ongoing, saying, “In Memory of my Dad – Oftentimes, we speak of the famous authors who inspire us. But, my father shaped me to become a storyteller first.” A lovely and touching tribute to a writer’s personal hero.

Megan Held presents Foreshadowing posted at Mysterious Writings, saying, “Foreshadowing is a handy tool that writers can utilize in their own writing. I explain what it is, how it is used and use a personal example from one of my novels. My aim is to help writers that are stuck with how to start a novel or want to try something new.” This is a very good post on a device that can be quite effective if used properly.

*********************************

time to reveal the mask underneath the mask
therefore the end of the carnival

Thanks for reading!

© Third Sunday Blog Carnival, 2012

9 thoughts on “Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 7

  1. Pingback: Have Confidence « kittyb78

  2. Pingback: Featured |

  3. Pingback: Third Sunday Blog Carnival: Volume 1, No. 6 « Third Sunday Blog Carnival

  4. Pingback: Three Rules for Writing « Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World

  5. Pingback: I’m a ThirdSunday BC contributor! | The "Angry Goblin"

Leave a Reply

